New Hampshire Bar Foundation

New Hampshire Bar Foundation New Hampshire Bar Foundation

Rory Parnell

2017 Kirby Award
Rory Parnell
Parnell Michels & McKay PLLC

Bar Foundation Awards

Robert E. Kirby Award

The Robert E. Kirby Award was established in 1996 to honor the memory of Bob Kirby, a young lawyer "of great skill, civility and good humor" who died that year at the age of 35. Kirby was an attorney with the Concord law firm of Gallagher, Callahan & Gartrell.

The purpose of the award is to honor Bob's memory and to remind all of us that decency, courtesy and perspective neither inhibits nor defeats excellent advocacy. The Kirby Award recipient is an attorney 35 years old or younger who demonstrates the traits of civility, courtesy, perspective and excellent advocacy.

Watch this video that tells the story of the Kirby award and its impact on recipients.

The 2017 Kirby Award will be presented at the NH Bar Foundation Annual Dinner at the Manchester Country Club on Tuesday, September 12. Learn more.

Recipients are listed below with their firm affiliation at the time of the award.

Robert E. Kirby Award Recipients

2017   Rory Parnell, Parnell Michels & McKay PLLC
2016   Anthony Galdieri, Nixon Peabody
2015   Jonathan Eck, Devine Millimet
2014   Julian B. Jefferson, NH Public Defender
2013   Daniel J. Feltes, NH Legal Assistance
2012   Michael S. Lewis, NH Attorney General's Office
2011   Holly B. Haines, Abramson Brown & Dugan
2010   Sarah E. Mattson, New Hampshire Legal Assistance
2009   Jaye L. Rancourt, Brennan, Caron, Lenehan, & Iacopino
2008   Charles J. Keefe, Wilson, Bush, Durkin & Keefe
2007   Joceline D. Champagne, NH Pro Bono Referral Program
2006    Mary Ann Dempsey, Wiggin & Nourie
2005    Mary E. Tenn, Tenn And Tenn
2004    Kelly Ayotte, Attorney General
2003    Jennifer Parent, McLane, Graf, Raulerson & Middleton
2002    John T. Pendleton, Gottesman & Hollis
2001    Joseph N. Laplante, U.S. Attorneys Office
1999    James J. Tenn, Jr., Tenn And Tenn
1998    Diane Murphy Quinlan, Diocese of Manchester, NH
1997    Mark E. Howard, U.S. Attorneys Office
1996    John P. Kacavas, Kacavas and Ramsdell

Past Kirby Award Recipients at the
2016 Bar Foundation Annual Meeting

Past recipients of the Robert E. Kirby gather for a photo at the 2016 NH Bar Foundation Annual Dinner on Sept. 21.
About Us | Become A Donor | Grant Programs | IOLTA | Law-Related Education
Public Resources | Bar Foundation Awards | Press Room | Audio/Video

Copyright © New Hampshire Bar Foundation - 2020
Web Development and Hosting by Random Orbits
Design & Images by Nic Luciano