New Hampshire Bar Foundation

New Hampshire Bar Foundation New Hampshire Bar Foundation

John Garvey

2017 Kenison Award
John Garvey
UNH School of Law

Bar Foundation Awards

Frank Rowe Kenison Award

The Kenison Award was established by the Bar Foundation to recognize an individual (or individuals) who makes substantial contributions to the betterment of New Hampshire citizens through the administration of justice, the legal profession, or the advancement of legal thought. The award is made annually, selected by vote of the Board of Directors of the New Hampshire Bar Foundation. Recipients need not be members of the New Hampshire Bar Association, but are carefully chosen to honor individuals who meet the criteria for the award in its broadest sense.

Frank Rowe Kenison (1907-1980) was a member of the New Hampshire Bar Association for 48 years, and served as Chief Justice of the New Hampshire Supreme Court from 1952 to 1977. He was an exquisite legal thinker who committed his life to the legal system, education about the law, and the promise of equal justice for all.

The 2017 Kenison Award will be presented at the NH Bar Foundation Annual Dinner at the Manchester Country Club on Tuesday, September 12. Learn more.

Kenison Award Recipients

2017   John Garvey, UNH School of Law
2016   Judge Paul Barbadoro, US District Court
2015   Chief Justice Linda Stewart Dalianis, NH Supreme Court
2014   Hon. Kenneth R. McHugh, NH Superior Court (retired)
2014   Amy Beth Messer, Disabilities Rights Center
2013   Claire Ebel, NH Civil Liberities Union (retired)
2012   David L. Nixon, Nixon, Vogelman, Barry, Slawsky & Simoneau P.A.(deceased)
2011   Dean John T. Broderick, Jr., UNH School of Law
2010   Attorney Howard J. Zibel, NH Supreme Court
2009   Attorney Jacalyn Colburn, NH Public Defender
2009   Attorney Richard Guerriero, NH Public Defender
2008   Hon. Francis J. Frasier, Hampton District Court
2007   Attorney Frederic K. Upton, Upton & Hatfield, LLP (deceased)
2006    Attorney Elliott Berry, NH Legal Assistance
2005    Nina C. Gardner, NH Judicial Council
2004    Attorney Jack B. Middleton, McLane, Graf, Raulerson & Middleton
2003    Attorney Ronald K. Lospennato, Disabilities Rights Center
2002    Honorable James E. Duggan, NH Supreme Court
2001    Marcia Sink, Court Appointed Special Advocates
2000    Honorable Susan B. Carbon, Family Courts
1999    Attorney John E. Tobin, NH Legal Assistance
1998    Honorable Edwin W. Kelly, District Courts

Past Kenison Award Recipients at the
2013 Bar Foundation Annual Meeting

Top row, starting at left: Richard Guerriero, Dean John Broderick, Hon. Jacalyn Colburn, Nina Gardner, Marcia Sink, Hon. Susan Carbon, Tony McManus, John Tobin, Hon. James Duggan, and Elliot Berry. Seated: David Nixon, Claire Ebel (this year�s Kenison award recipient) and Jack Middleton. (Not present: Hon. Edwin Kelly. McManus, while not a Kenison award recipient, is a past chair of the Bar Foundation.)
About Us | Become A Donor | Grant Programs | IOLTA | Law-Related Education
Public Resources | Bar Foundation Awards | Press Room | Audio/Video

Copyright © New Hampshire Bar Foundation - 2019
Web Development and Hosting by Random Orbits
Design & Images by Nic Luciano